AECOM’s Anthony Wilson leads New Year Honours recipients in engineering and built environment

AECOM’s Anthony Wilson leads a host of New Year Honours recipients recognised for their work in engineering and the built and natural environment.

Wilson, who has worked at AECOM for almost 40 years, received an MBE for his services to building and engineering. Currently director of AECOM's building engineering team, as well as leading the company’s work within sustainable development, advanced design, and applied research, Wilson has also been a strong advocate of engineering as a profession for young people.

He is joined in receiving New Year’s Honours by a number of other individuals from various professions working in the UK infrastructure sector.

Commanders of the Order of the British Empire (CBE)

Professor Polina Bayvel, Professor of Optical Communications and Networks, University College London.  For services to Engineering.
Professor Richard Burdett, Professor of Architecture and Urban Studies, London School of Economics. For services to Urban Planning and Design.
Professor Paul Charles Cheshire, Economist. For services to Economics and Housing.
Dr Andrew Douglas Garrad FREng, For services to Renewable Energy.
Professor Peter John Goodhew FREng, Emeritus Professor of Engineering, University of Liverpool.  For services to Engineering and Education.
Edmund Nigel Ronald Hosker, Lately Director, International Energy, EU and Resilience, Department of Energy and Climate Change.  For services to Energy Policy.
Professor John Adrian Pyle, Professor of Chemistry and 1920 Chair for Physical Chemistry, Cambridge University.  For services to Atmospheric Chemistry and Environmental Science.
Dr David Watson, Director, IBM Research UK.  For services to Science and Engineering Research.

Officers of the Order of the British Empire (OBE)
Christopher Blythe, Chief Executive, Chartered Institute of Building. For services to the Construction Industry and Government.
Dr Bernard Joseph Bulkin, for services to the Energy Industry.
Professor Peter Malcolm Jones, Independent Transport Commissioner. For voluntary services to National Transport Policy.
Keith Loraine, Chief Executive, Isos Housing Group. For services to Housing and the community in North East England.
Dr Keith Alexander Maclean, For services to the Energy Industry.
Thomas Michael Miskell, Chair, Accent and Northern Housing Consortium. For services to Housing Associations in Northern England.
Ian Hamilton Munro, Group Chief Executive, New Charter Group. For services to Housing.
Professor Anne Neville FREng, Royal Academy of Engineering Chair in Emerging Technologies, University of Leeds. For services to Engineering.
Christopher David Newsome, Director, Asset Management and Executive Director, Anglian Water.  For services to Civil Engineering and Carbon Reduction.
Amanda Jane Nobbs, Chair, Thames Regional Flood and Coastal Committee.  For services to Flood and Coastal Risk Management and Environment Protection.
Margaret Elizabeth Philbin, Chief Executive Officer and Co-founder, TeenTech. For services to Promoting Careers in STEM and Creative Industries.
Caroline Anne Ross, Lawyer, Department of Energy and Climate Change.  For Legal Services to International Climate Change Negotiations.
Bruce Stewart Shephard, Managing Director, Shepherd Offshore. For services to the Economy and Skills in the Offshore Sector.
Caroline Wake, Head, UK Delegation, Channel Tunnel Safety Authority. For services to Transport Safety and the community in Kent.
Hugh Wark, For services to Transport and the Economy in Scotland.
Dr Christoph Stefan Wiesner, Chief Executive, The Welding Institute.  For services to Engineering and Innovation.

Members of the Order of the British Empire (MBE)
Michael Joseph Conway, Chief Executive Officer, FM Conway.  For services to UK Construction, Infrastructure Support and Road Safety.
Sidney Hawkins, Engineering Support and Health and Safety Manager, Air Accidents Investigation Branch. For services to Aviation Safety.
Anne-Marie Osawemwenze Ore-Ofe Imafidon, Co-founder and Chief Executive Officer, Stemettes. For services to Young Women within STEM Sectors.
Katherine Liddell, Team Organiser, Maintenance Delivery Unit, Network Rail. For services to Transport in the East of England.
Roger Mackintosh, Senior Executive Officer, Traffic and Engineering, Department for Transport. For services to Transport.
Dr Janice Wendy Peters, Founder and Director, Katalytik Ltd.  For services to Women in Engineering and Science.
Dr Antony David Trapp DL, For services to the Engineering and Energy Industries.
Anthony Peter Wilson, Director, AECOM. For services to Building and Engineering.

Medallist of the Order of the British Empire (BEM)
Giles Matthew Simon Barker, Chair, Staff Network Group for Disability, Transport for London. For services to Transport in London and the Armed Forces Covenant.
Barbara Mitcheson, Secretary, Bodeham Flood Protection Group. For services to the community in Herefordshire.
Brendan Malcolm Sleight, Chair, Staff Network for Injured and Sick Ex-Forces and Reservist Personnel, Transport for London. For services to Transport and the community in London.
Ian David Ward, Director, Isle of Wight Community Bus Partnership. For services to Community Transport.

Click here to see the full list of New Year’s Honours 2017.