Mott MacDonald and Atkins top the 2014 NCE/ACE Consultants Awards honours

Mott MacDonald named Global Consultant and Atkins UK Major Consultant at the NCE/ACE Consultants of Year Awards today.

Consultants awards

In a hotly contested global category, Mott MacDonald’s significant presence in all parts of the world,  beat off competition from five other global players, including US-owned giants Aecom and URS, WSP, Parsons Brinckerhoff and Atkins.

However, Atkins overhauled Mott MacDonald in the UK category with its culture of technical excellence and its attitude towards employing young people. Other contenders included  Hyder, Arup and Parsons Brinckerhoff.

The awards, held at Claridges Hotel in London, were sponsored by Bentley Systems, Hays Civil Engineering, LafargeTarmac and Mabey Hire. They seek to recognise outstanding business performance at a corporate and individual level.

Three other awards were made to individuals or teams. Young consultant of the year was Ramboll associate structural engineer Gavin White, sustainability champion was Buro Happold technical director Mei Ren; and the outstanding achievement award went to a Rhead Group project team.

Ardent Consulting Engineers was named specialist consultant of the year, BCS won the consultant of the year (under 250 employees) category, and Peter Brett Associates was consultant of the year (250-2,500 employees).


NCE/ACE Consultants Awards 2014 – the winners in full

Young consultant of the year sponsored by Hays

WINNER: Gavin White, Ramboll


Natasha Watson, Buro Happold

Sarah McKendrick, Jacobs

George Kapos, High-Point Rendel


Outstanding achievement

WINNER: Rhead Group: Emissions reduction team at St Fergus, Kirremuir and Hatton compressor stations


Aecom: 2013 Serpentine Gallery Pavilion team

JBA Consulting: Scour enhance spend design team


Sustainability champion – sponsored by Lafarge Tarmac

WINNER: Mei Ren, Buro Happold

Highly Commended: Carbon team, Mott MacDonald


Christina Jackson, Amey

Andrew Kinsey, Mace

Parsons Brinckerhoff

Andrea Charlson, Arup


Global consultant of the year – sponsored by Bentley Systems

WINNER: Mott MacDonald






Parsons Brinckerhoff


UK major consultant of the year – sponsored by Mabey

WINNER: Atkins

The shortlist is: Atkins



Mott MacDonald

Parsons Brinckerhoff


Consultant of the year with between 250 and 2,500 employees

WINNER: Peter Brett Associates


Buro Happold

SLR Consulting

Tony Gee & Partners


Consultant of the year with fewer than 250 employees




Flint & Neill

Davies Maguire + Whitby


Specialist consultant of the year

WINNER: Ardent


Matthew Consultants (part of the Walsh Group)

GGP Consult


Phil Jones Associates





The judges for the global, UK major, consultant of the year with between 250 and 2,500 employees, consultant of the year with fewer than 250 employees, sustainability champion and specialist consultant of the year awards are:

Mark Hansford, interim editor, NCE

Geoff French, President, ICE

Bruce Tether, professor of innovation management and strategy, Manchester Business School

Francesca Raleigh O’Connell, independent analyst

Keith Howells, past chairman, A

Nelson Ogunshakin, chief executive, ACE


The judges for the young consultant of the year and outstanding achievement awards are:

Graham Nicholson, executive managing director, Tony Gee & Partners

Greg Lettington, national engineering director, Hays

Lucy Carraz, technical director, URS

Margo Cole, Consultants File editor, NCE

Antony Oliver, editor, Infrastructure Intelligence

Anil Iyer, chief operating officer, ACE



If you would like to contact Antony Oliver about this, or any other story, please email