Engineering Excellence Awards 2015 - BWB wins Diamond Award as best of the best

UK consultancy business and individual excellence rewarded at evening of celebration - full list of winners revealed.

Nottingham based BWB Consulting swept the board at the 2015 ACE Engineering Excellence Awards, winning two category awards plus the overal Diamond Award for winner of winners to seal celebrations for the firm's 25th anniversary (click for profile).

The evening of celebration also recognised the industry's individual emerging talent and named WSP engineer Michelle Hicks as Engineer of the Future, with AECOM's Karol McCusker and Mott MacDonald's Victoria Sutherland highly commended.

The awards celebrate and reward the very best performances of the year from across the UK consultancy and engineering community. 

Judges highlighted BWB's innovative sustainable model of best practice across a range of disciplines, distinguishing its businesses as a trailblazer in careful and sensitive design to bring the natural and built environments together.

Winners were announced at a gala dinner in London last night (Wednesday 20 May 2015) at the Grand Connaught Rooms, London - see below for the full list - at which ACE chief executive Nelson Ogunshakin challenged the industry to continue to lead the UK into growth with innovative solutions to the nation's infrastructure challenges.

"Once again the standard of entries was extremely high and dominated by engineering projects that showcased the ingenuity and innovation of UK engineering companies and the amazing inventiveness shown by their teams in delivering solutions to complex and ambitious projects," said AOgun Shakin told the gathered industry leaders. "Tonight’s theme was ‘ACE – the future : Be who you want to be’ and all our winners are excellent ambassadors for the sector and all demonstrated exceptional team work.”



ACE Diamond Award - the overall 2015 winner of winners

BWB Consulting


Building Services (over 250 employees) 

Sponsored by Beale & Company and Griffith & Armour 


WINNER: Hoare Lea

Highly Commended: AECOM  


  • Ramboll


Building Services (up to 250 employees) 

WINNER: Skelly & Crouch

Highly Commended: Hurley Palmer Flatt


  • BWB Consulting 
  • Clancy Consulting                                                                                                


Building Structures (over 250 employees) 

Sponsored by Beale & Company and Griffith & Armour 


WINNER: Ramboll  

Highly Commended: BDP          


  • Capita Property and Infrastructure 
  • Pell Frischmann                                                                                            


Building Structures (up to 250 employees) 

WINNER: BWB Consulting    

Special Award: Engineers for Overseas Development      


  • Clancy Consulting                                                  


Engineering Professional of the Year 

Sponsored by Mott MacDonald 

WINNER: Matthew Browell- Hook, Atkins  


  • Brian Brett, Hurley Palmer Flatt                                                                   


Project Award Design (up to 250 employees)

WINNER: BWB Consulting

Highly Commended: Skelly & Couch 


Research, Studies and Consulting Advisory Award 

WINNER: IMC Worldwide

Highly Commended: AECOM


  • Jacobs
  • Roughton 


Utility Infrastructure Award 

WINNER: Pell Frischmann   

Highly Commended: Royal HaskoningDHV 


  • GHA Livigunn                                                                                   
  • Waterman


Transport Infrastructure Award 


Highly Commended: Mott MacDonald  


  • Capita                                                                                      


Progress Network Award - Engineer of the Future

WINNER: Michelle Hicks, WSP

Highly Commended: 

  • Karol McCusker, AECOM 

Highly Commended: 

  • Victoria Sutherland, Mott MacDonald 


  • Chris Walker, Flint & Neill 
  • Divindy Grant, Mott MacDonald 



  • Geoff French, Immediate past president, Institution of Civil Engineers (chair of judges)
  • Steve Tarr, Balfour Beatty 
  • David Waboso, London Underground
  • Malcolm Bairstow, EY
  • Paul Berg, Griffiths & Armour
  • Antony Oliver, Infrastructure Intelligence 

Find out more by clicking here.

If you would like to contact Antony Oliver about this, or any other story, please email