Mott MacDonald wins Mike Nichols Award for Inspiration at 2015 APM Awards

Winners on the night also included AECOM Global Alliance, Heathrow Airport, BAE Systems and the National Trust in Association for Project Management celebration of UK project programme and project professional excellence

APM Awards 2015

Mott MacDonald subsidiary Cambridge Education scooped the first ever Mike Nichols Awards for Inspiration at the 2015 Association for Project Management Awards, in recognition of its education reform work in Uganda. 

The Lower Secondary Curriculum, Assessment and Examination Reform Programme, Uganda was handed the prestigious and unique glass trophy at a gala celebration evening in London this week for its outstanding work to transform education in Africa.

This new category celebrates the legacy of Mike Nichols, the Nichols Group founder, long-serving former APM chairman, member and supporter. It is designed to recognise inspirational projects, programmes and organisations that have made contributions to successful transformational change in the world, society and for the project management community. 

Also awarded on the night of celebration was AECOM Global Alliance – a partnership with BP – in the Health and Safety category for its work to raise the bar in terms of attention to this vital aspect of project delivery.

Mark Thurston, Regional Managing Director, Europe CH2M was awarded an honorary Fellowship of the Association recognising more than 25 years’ experience in project and programme management, on projects including Crossrail and the London 2012 Olympics.

Winners on the night included:

Project Management Company of the Year Award:
(Sponsored by 20|20 Business Insight)

  • National Trust

Project of the Year Award:
(Sponsored by QinetiQ)

  • MASS Transformation - BAE Systems Munitions

IT Project of the Year:
(Sponsored by: T-Systems)

  • Heathrow Terminal 3 Integrated Baggage Facility - Heathrow Airport Ltd

Programme of the Year Award:
(Sponsored by Program Framework)

  • Delivery of the UK Ministry of Defence's Rotary Wing Strategy 2009-2015 - UK Ministry of Defence, Defence Equipment & Support

Project Professional of the Year Award:
(Sponsored by Atos)

  • Stephen Prowse - Artelia Projects UK Limited

Young Project Professional of the Year Award:
(Sponsored by Doosan Babcock)

  • Sarah De Boer - Centrica Energy

Shell HSSE (health, safety, security and environment) Award:
(Sponsored by Shell)

  • Global Alliance - AECOM Ltd

The Mike Nichols Award for Inspiration:
(Sponsored by The Nichols Group)

  • Lower Secondary Curriculum, Assessment and Examination Reform Programme, Uganda (CURASSE) - Mott MacDonald Ltd trading as Cambridge Education

Social Project of the Year Award:
(Supported by: Project)

  • EFOD NW Grain for Gain Food Store - Engineers for Overseas Development

Overseas Project of the Year Award:
(Sponsored by Ramboll)

  • Tamkeen Syria: Creating Change - Adam Smith International

Sir Monty Finniston Award 2015:

  • IPMA


Academic Awards:
(Sponsored by BAE Systems)

Geoffrey Trimble Award:

  • Sandra Eaton - Ministry of Defence

Herbert Walton Award:

  • Sanwara Gunasekera - Ulster University

Brian Willis Award:

  • Nicholas Dewey - Babcock International Group

For details visit the APM website



If you would like to contact Antony Oliver about this, or any other story, please email