Leaders in engineering elected to Royal Academy of Engineering fellowship

Fifty of the UK’s top engineers have been elected as fellows of the Royal Academy of Engineering, in a stellar list that includes some of the world’s leading innovators and business people.

The 50 new fellows, who include Keith Howells of Mott MacDonald and Atkins's Uwe Kruger, were formally admitted to the academy at its AGM in London this week, in addition to two new international fellows and one honorary fellow, who will add their expertise to the fellowship of 1,500 world-leading engineers from both industry and academia.

Professor Dame Ann Dowling, president of the Royal Academy of Engineering, said: “Since 130 engineers were first called together in 1976 to form the fellowship of engineering, our fellows have come together to advance and promote excellence in engineering.  I’m so proud to welcome our new fellows, who represent the very best of UK engineering. From technology giants to our universities’ finest minds, our new fellows demonstrate how engineering is tackling some of the biggest challenges facing the world. I look forward to working with them as we continue to make the UK a leading nation for engineering innovation and businesses.”

The complete list of new fellows for 2017 is as follows: -

  • Professor Julian Allwood - Professor of Engineering and the Environment, University of Cambridge
  • Dr Don Arnone - Chief Executive Officer, TeraView Ltd
  • Christopher Barkey - Former Group Director, Engineering & Technology, Rolls-Royce plc
  • Dr Anthony Batchelor - Executive Chairman, GeoScience Ltd; Chairman, Camborne School of Mines Trust
  • Dr Michael Begg - Group Managing Director, Tesla Engineering Ltd (Storrington EquityCo Ltd)
  • Gordon Birrell - Chief Operating Officer, Production, Transformation and Carbon, BP plc
  • Dr Keith Bowers - Head of Tunnels, London Underground
  • Dr Andrew Carter - Chief Technology Officer, Oclaro Inc
  • Joan Cordiner - Technical and Change Manager, GBB Site; Global Risk Manager, Syngenta
  • Andrew Cowell - Managing Director, Mercedes AMG High Performance Powertrains Ltd
  • Professor David Cumming FRSE - Head, School of Engineering, and Chair, Electronic Systems, University of Glasgow
  • Mark Cutifani - Group CEO, Anglo American plc
  • Professor Michael Davies - Jeffrey Hamilton Collins Chair in Signal and Image Processing, University of Edinburgh
  • Professor Andrew Davison - Professor of Robot Vision, Department of Computing, and Director, Dyson Robotics Laboratory, Imperial College London
  • Professor Mischa Dohler - Chair Professor in Wireless Communications, and Director, Centre for Telecommunications Research, King’s College London
  • Professor Alicia El Haj - Director, Institute of Science and Technology in Medicine, Keele University
  • Air Vice-Marshal Graham Peter Farnell CB OBE - General Manager, NATO Eurofighter Tornado Management Agency (NETMA)
  • Mark Garrett - Chief Operating Officer and Executive Board Member, Ricardo plc
  • Dr Caroline Hargrove - Technical Director, McLaren Applied Technologies
  • Dr Demis Hassabis - Co-founder and Chief Executive Officer, DeepMind
  • Eric Hawthorn - Managing Director, Radio Design Ltd
  • Professor Morgan Heikal - Head of the Centre for Automotive Engineering, University of Brighton
  • Keith Howells - Group Chairman, Mott MacDonald Group Ltd
  • Rachel Hurst - Chief Operating Officer, Domino Printing Sciences plc
  • Professor Dr Uwe Krueger - Former Chief Executive Officer, WS Atkins plc
  • Professor Juergen Maier - Chief Executive, Siemens UK & Ireland
  • Dr Graeme Malcolm OBE FRSE - Chief Executive Officer, M Squared Lasers Ltd
  • Professor Ursula Martin CBE FRSE - Professor of Computer Science, University of Oxford
  • Dr Pavel Matousek - Chief Scientific Officer, Cobalt Light Systems; Science and Technology Facilities Council Senior Fellow, Rutherford Appleton Laboratory
  • Geoff McFarland - Group Head of Engineering, Renishaw
  • Dr Philip O’Donovan - Angel investor
  • Professor Sir Timothy O’Shea FRSE - Principal and Vice-Chancellor, University of Edinburgh
  • Dr Andrew Palmer CMG - Chief Executive Officer, Aston Martin Lagonda
  • Professor Sir Martyn Poliakoff CBE FRS - Research Professor in Chemistry, University of Nottingham
  • Professor Simon Pollard - Pro-Vice-Chancellor, School of Water, Energy and Environment, Cranfield University
  • Professor Richard Prager - Professor of Engineering, University of Cambridge
  • Professor Tony Purnell - Head of Technology, British Cycling; Royal Academy of Engineering Visiting Professor, University of Cambridge
  • Professor Graham Reed - Professor of Silicon Photonics, University of Southampton
  • Professor Roger Reed - Professor of Engineering Science and Materials, University of Oxford
  • Dr Ian Ritchey - Group Chief Engineer, Rolls-Royce plc
  • Professor Spencer Sherwin - McLaren Racing/Royal Academy of Engineering Research Chair and Professor of Computational Fluid Mechanics, Department of Aeronautics, Imperial College London
  • Dr Dame Angela Strank DBE - Head of Downstream Technology and BP Chief Scientist, BP plc
  • Professor Eleanor Stride - Professor of Engineering Science, University of Oxford
  • Professor Anne Trefethen - Pro-Vice-Chancellor, University of Oxford
  • Dr Eben Upton CBE - Chief Executive Officer, Raspberry Pi (Trading)
  • Professor Paul Watson - Professor of Computer Science, Newcastle University
  • Professor Terry Wilkins - Professor of Nanomanufacturing Innovation, University of Leeds
  • Dr Sarah Williamson - Technical Director, Laing O’Rourke; Construction Technical Director, BYLOR
  • Professor Alexandre Yakovlev - Professor of Computer System Design, Newcastle University
  • Professor Antoni Ziolkowski FRSE - Professor of Petroleum Geoscience, University of Edinburgh


If you would like to contact Andy Walker about this, or any other story, please email