Consultancy and Engineering Awards 2019 shortlist announced

The shortlist for the 2019 Consultancy and Engineering Awards has been announced today by the Association for Consultancy and Engineering (ACE).

Recognising the achievements of both ACE members and non-member organisations, the awards are an annual showcase for the best that the engineering and consultancy sector has to offer.

The shortlist has been chosen by a panel of expert industry judges headed by Roger Bailey of Thames Tideway. Winners will then be unveiled at an awards ceremony in central London on 6 June.

To tie in with the ACE’s Future of Consultancy campaign, there will be four new champion categories representing some of the key areas that the campaign will address: Strategic Planning & Placemaking Champion, Integrated Project Team of the Year (Public Sector), Integrated Project Team of the Year (Private Sector), and Data-led  Asset Performance Champion.

Commenting, ACE chief executive Hannah Vickers, said: “I would like to congratulate all of the shortlisted nominees on an excellent set of entries. We look forward to seeing them all at our gala dinner and awards ceremony in June, where we will be celebrating their achievements over the last 12 months.”

The gala ceremony takes place on Thursday 6 June at the Royal Lancaster Hotel and follows a black-tie dinner. To book your place, click here.

The shortlist for the Consultancy and Engineering Awards 2019 is as follows:

Future of Consultancy - Integrated Project Team of the Year, Public Sector Client 

  • DNRC Project Team - BS Stanford & Arup with Osbornes QS, Steffian Bradley Architects, John Simpson Architects, Interverse Construction and Shepherd Engineering Services 
  • TfL - Mott Macdonald 
  • Turner & Townsend, Waterman Group and PwC 
  • WJPS - Ashley Jordan 

Future of Consultancy - Integrated Project Team of the Year, Private Sector Client 

  • BuroHappold Engineering 
  • BWB 
  • Welsh Water IMS, Welsh Water BIS, Welsh Water Alliance, Arup 

Best UK Business Performance - micro organisation (<10 employees) 

  • CC Hydrodynamics 
  • Lewis Hubbard 
  • Rail Power Solutions 
  • Rivelin Bridge 

Best UK Business Performance - small/medium sized organisation (10+ employees but less than 250) 

  • ABPmer
  • Adept Consulting Engineers 
  • Clancy Consulting Limited 
  • Dougall Baillie Associates 
  • Geo-Environmental Services Ltd 
  • IMC Worldwide 
  • Jubb 

Best UK Business Performance - large organisation (>250 employees) 

  • BuroHappold Engineering 
  • Curtins 
  • Pick Everard 

Future of Consultancy - Strategic Planning & Placemaking Champion 

  • Arup 
  • WYG 

Future of Consultancy - Data Led Asset Performance Champion 

  • Amey Consulting 
  • BWB & Deetu 

Environmental Initiative of the Year 

  • IMC Social & Environmental Safeguarding Team - Freetown Landfill Feasibility Study 
  • Mott MacDonald - Embedding PAS2080 across a global business 
  • Arup and HS2 Ltd – High Speed Two Air Quality 
  • Waterman Group - Biodiversity Toolkit 

Emerging Professional Employer of the Year 

  • IMC Worldwide 
  • Stantec 
  • WSP 

Emerging Professional of the Year 

  • Josh Dickerson - BWB/Deetu 
  • John Hargreaves – Turner & Townsend 
  • Philippa Jefferis – IMC Worldwide 
  • Christopher McAtasney - Turner & Townsend 
  • Jamie Radford – Mott MacDonald 
  • Elizabeth Side – Jubb 
  • Charlotte Smith – Ramboll 
  • Gavin Smith - Ramboll 

Apprentice of the Year 

  • Matthew Baker – WYG 
  • Pabita Bista – IMC Worldwide 
  • Hannah Brough – AECOM 
  • Willow-Athena Hempell – WSP 
  • Conor O’Loughlin - Ramboll 
  • Caitlin Sutherland – PBA, now part of Stantec.
  • Elliott Webb - Arup 
If you would like to contact Ryan Tute about this, or any other story, please email